Country Names
Home Up


Countries' Names - Short & Long - Official (from CIA website)

horizontal rule

North America

Mexico United Mexican States 
United States United States of America 

Central America

Costa Rica Republic of Costa Rica 
El Salvador Republic of El Salvador 
Guatemala Republic of Guatemala 
Honduras Republic of Honduras 
Nicaragua Republic of Nicaragua 
Panama Republic of Panama 


Antigua and Barbuda  
Bahamas Commonwealth of The Bahamas
Cuba Republic of Cuba 
Dominica Commonwealth of Dominica 
Dominican Republic  
Haiti Republic of Haiti 
Saint Kitts and Nevis Federation of Saint Kitts and Nevis 
Saint Lucia  
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines  
Trinidad and Tobago Republic of Trinidad and Tobago 

South America

Argentina Argentine Republic
Bolivia Republic of Bolivia
Brazil Federative Republic of Brazil
Chile Republic of Chile 
Colombia Republic of Colombia 
Ecuador Republic of Ecuador 
Guyana Co-operative Republic of Guyana 
Paraguay Republic of Paraguay 
Peru Republic of Peru 
Suriname Republic of Suriname 
Uruguay Oriental Republic of Uruguay 
Venezuela Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela 


Albania Republic of Albania
Andorra Principality of Andorra
Armenia Republic of Armenia
Austria Republic of Austria
Azerbaijan Azerbaijani Republic
Belarus Republic of Belarus
Belgium Kingdom of Belgium
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Bulgaria Republic of Bulgaria
Croatia Republic of Croatia 
Cyprus (Greek) Republic of Cyprus 
Cyprus (Turkish Cyprus) the Turkish Cypriot area refers to itself as the "Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus" (TRNC) 
Czech Republic
Denmark Kingdom of Denmark 
Estonia Republic of Estonia 
Finland Republic of Finland 
France French Republic 
Germany Federal Republic of Germany 
Greece Hellenic Republic 
Holy See (Vatican City)  (not a U.N. member) The Holy See (State of the Vatican City) 
Hungary Republic of Hungary 
Iceland Republic of Iceland 
Italy Italian Republic 
Latvia Republic of Latvia 
Liechtenstein Principality of Liechtenstein 
Lithuania Republic of Lithuania 
Luxembourg Grand Duchy of Luxembourg 
Macedonia The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
Malta Republic of Malta 
Moldova Republic of Moldova 
Monaco Principality of Monaco 
Netherlands Kingdom of the Netherlands 
Norway Kingdom of Norway
Poland Republic of Poland 
Portugal Portuguese Republic 
Russia Russian Federation 
San Marino Republic of San Marino 
Slovakia Slovak Republic
Slovenia Republic of Slovenia 
Spain Kingdom of Spain 
Sweden Kingdom of Sweden 
Switzerland (not a U.N. member) Swiss Confederation 
Turkey Republic of Turkey 
United Kingdom United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 


Afghanistan Islamic State of Afghanistan - the self-proclaimed Taliban government refers to the country as Islamic Emirate of Afghanistan
Australia Commonwealth of Australia
Bahrain State of Bahrain
Bangladesh People's Republic of Bangladesh
Bhutan Kingdom of Bhutan
Brunei Negara Brunei Darussalam
Cambodia Kingdom of Cambodia
China (Peoples Republic) People's Republic of China
China (Taiwan) (not a U.N. Member)
East Timor
Fiji Republic of the Fiji Islands
India Republic of India 
Indonesia Republic of Indonesia 
Iran Islamic Republic of Iran 
Iraq Republic of Iraq 
Israel State of Israel 
Jordan Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan
Kazakhstan Republic of Kazakhstan 
Kiribati (not a U.N. member) Republic of Kiribati 
Korea, Democratic People's Republic of (North Korea) Democratic People's Republic of Korea 
Korea, Republic of (South Korea) Republic of Korea 
Kuwait State of Kuwait 
Kyrgyzstan (Kyrgyz Republic) Kyrgyz Republic 
Lao People's Democratic Republic (Laos) Lao People's Democratic Republic 
Lebanon Lebanese Republic 
Maldives Republic of Maldives 
Marshall Islands Republic of the Marshall Islands 
Mauritius Republic of Mauritius
Micronesia Federated States of Micronesia 
Myanmar, Union of (Burma) Union of Burma - Union of Burma - Union of Myanmar
Nauru (not a U.N. member) Republic of Nauru 
Nepal Kingdom of Nepal 
New Zealand
Oman Sultanate of Oman 
Pakistan Islamic Republic of Pakistan 
Palau Republic of Palau 
Papua New Guinea Independent State of Papua New Guinea 
Philippines Republic of the Philippines 
Qatar State of Qatar 
Samoa (Western Samoa) Independent State of Samoa
Saudi Arabia Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
Singapore Republic of Singapore 
Solomon Islands
Sri Lanka Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka 
Syria Syrian Arab Republic 
Tajikistan Republic of Tajikistan
Thailand Kingdom of Thailand 
Tuvalu (not U.N. member)
United Arab Emirates
Uzbekistan Republic of Uzbekistan 
Vanuatu Republic of Vanuatu 
Viet Nam Socialist Republic of Vietnam 
Yemen Republic of Yemen 


Algeria Democratic and Popular Republic of Algeria
Angola Republic of Angola
Benin Republic of Benin
Botswana Republic of Botswana
Burkina Faso  
Burundi Republic of Burundi
Cameroon Republic of Cameroon 
Cape Verde Republic of Cape Verde
Central African Republic  
Chad Republic of Chad 
Comoros Federal Islamic Republic of the Comoros
Congo, Democratic Republic of the (formerly Zaire)  
Congo, Republic of (Brazzaville)  
Cote d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast)  Republic of Cote d'Ivoire 
Djibouti Republic of Djibouti 
Egypt Arab Republic of Egypt
Equatorial Guinea Republic of Equatorial Guinea
Eritrea State of Eritrea 
Ethiopia Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia 
Gabon Gabonese Republic 
Gambia, The Republic of The Gambia 
Ghana Republic of Ghana 
Guinea Republic of Guinea
Guinea-Bissau Republic of Guinea-Bissau
Kenya Republic of Kenya 
Lesotho Kingdom of Lesotho 
Liberia Republic of Liberia 
Libya Socialist People's Libyan Arab Jamahiriya 
Madagascar Republic of Madagascar 
Malawi Republic of Malawi 
Mali Republic of Mali 
Mauritania Islamic Republic of Mauritania 
Morocco Kingdom of Morocco 
Mozambique Republic of Mozambique 
Namibia Republic of Namibia 
Niger Republic of Niger 
Nigeria Federal Republic of Nigeria 
Rwanda Rwandese Republic 
Sao Tome and Principe Democratic Republic of Sao Tome and Principe 
Senegal Republic of Senegal 
Seychelles Republic of Seychelles 
Sierra Leone Republic of Sierra Leone 
South Africa Republic of South Africa 
Sudan Republic of the Sudan 
Swaziland Kingdom of Swaziland
Tanzania United Republic of Tanzania 
Togo Togolese Republic 
Tonga (not U.N. member) Kingdom of Tonga 
Tunisia Republic of Tunisia 
Uganda Republic of Uganda 
Zambia Republic of Zambia 
Zimbabwe Republic of Zimbabwe 

horizontal rule

Copyright 1998-2015 by Paul M. Bessel - all rights reserved

If you have any suggestions, comments, or questions about this website, please feel free to send an email message to me:  paulb'at' 

To see an index of other webpages with similar information, please feel free to click on the following:

Please note that I no longer am updating the webpages about Freemasonry. I still maintain my memberships but otherwise I am not active.

horizontal rule